Gordon’s Space and Happy Place

June 19

Today was a free day, basically. There were no real historical sites, but we did have to get on the ferry slightly early and head from Santorini to Naxos. I met some nice women on the ferry, too.

After arriving, we walked up a hill to our hotel, Hotel Grotta. Trust me, if you EVER come to Greece, go to Naxos and go to this hotel. The rooms and people are so nice. Everything about this island and this hotel is perfect. I promise. We were greeted with homemade cake and juices.

We got situated in the hotel and then headed into town to get oriented and have lunch. We went to a gyro place by the water and a spry, goofy old man showed us some party tricks and served us a delicious lunch. We’re going back there at some point before we leave.

After, a couple other girls and I hailed a taxi and headed to the Agia Anna beach. The water had little golden flecks in it and it was calm and clear. We sat, I drank a Gordon’s Space (which is my new favorite thing in the world, by the way) and we all basically gawked at how incredibly happy we were. Everything was perfect. More than once, each of us said, “This is the best day of my life.”

Honestly, Agia Anna is my happy place. Agia Anna is the place I will imagine when I am sitting at work in a week and lamenting ever leaving Greece. Agia Anna is now the place I will name when asked, “If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?” That’s where. Right in that place and time.

After some complications with taxi rides to the hotel, we finally made it back, quickly showered and headed to the sunset. We stood on the Palatia with the Portara, some ruins of the Temple of Apollo, and watched the sun sink down into the mountain peaks. It was completely breathtaking.

We all ate some delicious dinner and some ice cream and headed to an area to watch Greece play Japan in the FIFA World Cup. The first place was too empty, so we moved to another outdoor restaurant with some 20-something Greek dudes yelling at the TV (reminds me of home *coughJakecough*) and made it until about the 55th minute. I was falling asleep sitting in my chair in the middle of public, so we decided it was time to go back.

Fun Fact of the Day (only one): Japan and Greece tied with 0, and I went to bed at 3am.

All the Feelz: basically happiest I could imagine on that beach today. I wish I could share it with everyone I know. Naxos is perfect. You can think Barnes or whoever is talking it up too much, it won’t be THAT good…Nope. It really is that good. That’s all I got since I’m falling asleep currently.

Peace ❤

Leave a Reply

