In Sickness and In Health

Today started out allllllll wrong. I woke up with a migraine, nauseous, and dizzy. By the time we got to the Acropolis Museum, I felt like I might toss my cookies. I went back to the hotel, took a nap and some medicine, and felt refreshed. I got a speedy tour through the museum and then ate some awesome pizza for lunch.IMG_3690

Then, the Acropolis. We spent maybe 3 hours total climbing up and walking around. The marble was very slick and the sun was beating down, but it was definitely worth it. The Theatre of Dionysos and the Erechtheum were my favorite places. The Erechtheum has a type of porch with statues called the “maidens” on it, and those are my favorite Ancient Greek statues.

DSC00459DSC00492
After the acropolis, I went with Barnes, Naomi and some others to a restaurant called Adrianos and we drank and ate bread and read. It was probably my favorite part of the day. Then, we went to dinner with everyone and ate insane amounts of food (once again), while sitting and talking for around 3 hours. (When in Greece, do as the Grecians do, right?)

I just got back from getting gelato with some of the other girls, where we met people from Mizzou on the street! It’s a small world after all.

Overall, today was wonderful. I am getting to know the area better so I can walk around without getting lost/dying. Everyone on the trip is pretty cool. Some people went to a bar tonight but gelato sounded damn good. The acropolis is to die for. It is beautiful, as is the view of the city. I wrote down a few fun facts from today:

DSC004751. The Parthenon has been a mosque and a Christian church, as well as other things, over the years.


2. There are no straight lines in the Parthenon. It swells in the middle to create an image of being straight, correcting an optical illusion.

3. Building the Parthenon today as well as it was built originally would take 20 years; it took its original builders 9.

4. The stairway to the acropolis had a ramp so oxen and bulls could be taken up to be sacrificed.

5. The stage in the Theatre of Dionysos was filled with water to recreate naval battles and seated ~16,000 people.DSC00427

These are the things that stuck with me today. Fun facts that kind of make the old buildings more relatable and easier to wrap your head around. Tomorrow, the Agora and riding the Athens Metro! Looking forward to jet lag being over. 🙂DSC00465

Leave a Reply

