Smile!

IMG_3635 We are here! After a long, sleepless 10 hour flight from Philadelphia to Athens, we have arrived. I started things off right with a Coca Cola Light.

After we got to the hotel and got situated, we walked to a restaurant called “Smile” where an extremely nice woman served us all gyros. It was soooooo good. We sat, ate, and talked there. We noticed there were some white stones with drawings on them all over the restaurant, so we asked for some stones to decorate. At my table, one stone had the Chicago flag on it, and I drew MIZ on one side of my stone and ZOU on the other.IMG_3661

IMG_3666After we ate, Barnes took us all on a walk through the city. We passed the entrance to the acropolis and started up a steep-ish hill on slippery marble steps. After a lot of sweating, we reached an incredible view of Athens. We could see how the city spread outward from the acropolis to the sea. It was magnificent.

We walked down the hill and back to our hotel to rest our jet-lagged bodies
before dinner. Then, we went to a restaurant from which you can see the acropolis and ate 4 courses at long tables and drank wine while performers played the soundtrack to our meal.

Yesterday and today have felt like one long day to me. I am loving the city so far–it’s beautiful and has so much character. The hotel is comfortable, and you can see the Acropolis from the jacuzzi, so that’s a plus.

I am excited to go to the Acropolis tomorrow. Not as enthralled about the walk up there though, since I’m already tired from today’s slippery hike up the marble. I’m definitely looking forward to getting over this jet lag and feeling refreshed tomorrow morning.

Also, I can’t really even imagine ever being hungry again. This food is unbelievable.

PS: I will attach a few of my pictures, but to view all of them, you can go to https://www.dropbox.com/sh/s1mrxto2xf8lkbf/AACM3xhVqXNowvroNkuVWh5MaIMG_3667

IMG_3678 IMG_3680 IMG_3681 IMG_3685 IMG_3687

4 thoughts on “Smile!

  1. Allie,
    I love your blog and love seeing all your pics!!! Have a blast. I must say I am very jealous. Enjoy every minute and keep blogging.
    Aunt Chrissy

Leave a Reply

